Off the Road…

Spring is in air and summer will soon be rolling in.

I imagine the days of bonfires and chilly days with a hoodie will soon come to an end.

20170220_123624

Yes, it’s me…writing from south Alabama. Let me back track a bit.

Mr. Jer and I continued to roll with the punches since my last post the spring of 2016 and in turn, we had to take the rig off the road for a while. Last spring and summer, we had to swear off our decision for future traveling.

If you keep fighting with the horse driving the buggy who kept sucking you dry, and whom never seems to feel well, you’re kind of dead in the water. It was time to maybe find a new horse, no matter how expensive they are.

You see while making our way south for another workamping gig…we suffered two more major breakdowns with our horse in a weeks travel. Being pulled off the left side of the major highway in 100 degrees weather was not pleasant to say the least, especially with a leg out of commission!

20170220_123847

What came next, full-time paid maintenance work at a RV resort. While not our idea of retirement travels, we find many reasons to keep the gratitude list healthy and alive. Mr. Jer gets to play with new toys and the air-conditioned ones are his favorite!

20170220_123757

I signed up for housekeeping but let’s say it was short lived…it takes the right type of personality for that chore. I had to resign from all that, and currently am just Mr. Jer’s “helper!” We always made a good pair! And it’s been exciting to try out an electric tool or two again!

20170220_123726

So my decision to stay with the blog got placed on the back burner.  I kind of lost my happy and pretty much felt lost. Totally lost! As some will remember, I was riding through all these changes trying to get some MOHS surgery done and was in between doctors through our move south.

20170220_123823

It was setting me back MUCH LONGER than it should have. But I found an amazing surgeon and was back up running marathons last summer…or at least walking circles again.

Now that we’re back in the work force, our seldom outings of sightseeing leave for limited material creating posts of substance.  Plus, I was truly beginning to feel like a sore, worn out record with tales of hardship. We really had a dark cloud over us for longer than we ever could have foreseen.

20170220_123442

But to catch you up to date since leaving our volunteer gig at the COE park in South Carolina, let me share a favorite snippet or two.

The Thrashers are my new-found friend. They are my morning smile and we are fortunate to be in the back of the resort on the side of the woods. Lots of activity time to from the residents of nature, especially with all the fellow RV neighbor chatter far to the south of the park. We have a lot of peace and quiet.

20161026_103455

I was thrilled to learn of the Long Tailed Skipper Butterfly. The Wrens are my happy birds…a pair arrive every night at dinner, around dusk time, to hole up in the corners of our pop up tent.

20170220_123653

The holidays were mild and this year a tad more decorative. We not only had the small annual Christmas tree inside, we created one or two from pallets outside to light up the dark winter.

20161210_172535

When not spending our time in the park, we manage to continue with the bike trails, beach sunsets, junk viewing, quaint restaurants, and just taking a new route even if it says, “dead-end!”

20161212_075438

Or what continues to be our favorite is the “Sunday Social.” A grassroots outdoor farm venue with American music that will knock your socks off, with potlucks and a community sense of belonging. I’ll have to create a post all about it soon. The grounds are irresistible.

Oh and yes, 2016 the year of the POTUS election and days of sorrow as an extreme liberal concerned for all human rights, our environment, climate change, and preserving our constitution to name a few!

20170220_123535

Yep, my 1st march.  I got the news from a fellow RV blogger who was in the area and that was it. Off we went. Something I felt strong about and gave me a hint of glimmer, be entertained with others of like.  It was truly memorable.

20170220_123300

Even far away from family, the grand kids have kept us entertained from afar. We now can video chat, receive colored story books, and have an occasional visitor.

20170111_102949

And it was the day Ms. Emilee, our first-born granddaughter called and wanted to drive down from college in Nashville with our grand pup Annie. She was scheduled to leave for Regents U in London, and it would be a long stretch before we’d see her!

It was truly my happiest time of 2017 so far.

20170126_190706

It’s the younger generation, their dreams and desires that keep the excitement up for us these days. They heighten the level of love for life, that underscores the moments of sorrow and unhappiness tenfold.

And let’s not close without one “foodie” photo insert.

20170220_123401

Yes, we scored most of the park kumquats again this year.  My daily pop a vitamin C pill. We’ve been off and on with our home style cooking. Now that I’m home more, I’m back to trying food of better substance and seeking new ideas. And I’ve started a mini garden! The excitement, my tomato plant has a bloom or two!

So there you have it. Many ask, “how long will we be off the road”…well, that continues to play out. I’d like to see my savings back in check, a new thoroughbred and a couple minor health issues cleaned up.

Knocking on wood we’ve only had two truck issues this year and finally have a dream mechanic! We discovered one problem that was the culprit of two previous issues that could have been resolved in the first place. And right now we are currently dealing with a leak in the RV that is still a mystery!

20170125_202327

We take the bad with the GOOD. Right now we feel more on track. I’ve cut way back on social media and only follow along with Twitter (cozyupgirl) and Instagram (cozygirlfun). I’ll leave the blog back up and when there’s more of substance to add to this journey, I throw up some news.

~Cozygirl

Sometimes all you can do is not think, not wonder,
not imagine, not obsess.
Just breathe, and have faith that everything
will work out for the best. 

 

 

 

20 Comments Add yours

  1. Ok. Now I understand why I missed your blog all this time. You have always (seemed to me, anyway) been the most resilient of women, and it looks like your cheery disposition is pulling you through a tough time.

    Looks like you and Jerry have landed a good gig. Wishing you all happiness.

    Like

    1. Cozygirl says:

      Crazy year 2016 was…glad to have life running so much smoother. Hope my fav pup is back to herself!!

      Like

  2. Faye N Dave says:

    So sorry to have missed this post when it came out. Looking forward to seeing you soon and getting to sit and talk in person. Know even if I am not prompt on reading blogs I’m here for you.

    Like

    1. Cozygirl says:

      Oh I’m the one who just takes back road responding…mostly just keeping the day to day non travel up for history. Two weeks or so…finally up close and personal…excited!!!

      Like

  3. Teri Hallock says:

    Sounds like you have a great place for respite! I’m glad you are blogging again… day-to-day stuff is fun to read too! Love you girlie!

    Like

    1. Cozygirl says:

      Ditto back at ya…I miss your sharing of life in TX and beyond! Lv u back!

      Like

  4. So glad to hear from you. I wondered for a long time and even tried to knock on your blog door but no one answered. I hope and pray that you will continue to be able to overcome all the obstacles thrown your way and move on. Take care

    Like

    1. Cozygirl says:

      Thanks Mona, means a lot to hear from you. We never know what will play out traveling, we’re always hopeful to get back on the road!! You’re always an exciting following…glad the Mexico crossing was ok for you two! Disturbing for that other couple. Happy Spring!

      Like

  5. Sharon says:

    So much fun to see a new post from you Carla. Loved catching up with you this morning.

    The mushroom picture looks like some kind of earthstar or earthcup–hard to tell with the sand. But the puppy & grand picture is the best!

    Like

    1. Cozygirl says:

      I love how the sand covered that mushroom…gave the appearance of a sunflower to me. Now I know what they are…thx! Yes, catching up was wonderful, my sweet friend. Hugs!

      Like

  6. georgeyates says:

    Thanks Carla so glad that we met up with you guys and so love the lifestyle. sorry things are not working out for you guys right now and can carry on soon.

    Like

  7. Horst Kelly says:

    Thanks for the update and that things may start getting back to happy times…I do enjoy your photo’s and the honest and open narrative that accompanies them….Your first photo brings out the best of times…take care of yourselves keep posting from the heart! Horst sends

    ps..would enjoy seeing some of your cooking photo’s and story line….Mmmm, Mmmmm good :))

    Like

    1. Cozygirl says:

      We’ve always connected in some heart-felt, long distance kindred spirit! You bring me such joy Horst over the last few years! I’m waiting on your one dimensional art! Really can’t wait!! C

      Like

    2. Cozygirl says:

      Ps…you’re my other foodie by heart!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Marsha says:

    Thanks for the update. I had wondered how you were getting along.

    It’s funny how you get to know someone through their blog, and then when there’s a period of silence you can only hope everything is OK and it sounds like you’re rolling with life’s punches.

    Like

    1. Cozygirl says:

      Oh oh Marsha!!! I followed you in Alaska silently but yes, we always remember those truly invested quietly in the shadows!! Hope life good for you and on the road soon??!!

      Like

  9. Nice update Carla! Glad you are doing okay. It looks like you found a beautiful place to hang out for awhile until everything gets straightened out. Really love your hat! 😉

    Like

    1. Cozygirl says:

      Oh Karen…gheez! You’re like my “mtn” to traveling. You ride the road like I wish I was. The knowledge you must be consuming…what a way to do it. Perfect!! You make me rethink a lot. Hey Zuckerberg and wife just left AL I see on Instragram…traveling all 50 states. They should follow you. Yep we do what we can…we’ll get back out there I hope soon! xo

      Like

  10. georgeyates says:

    Thanks for the update hope things turn around for you and get much better, please keep us posted.

    Like

    1. Cozygirl says:

      George…oh Georgie!! Gheez…every time I fired up the 100 or catch a tweet I’m with you in spirit. Quiet a lot…just watching and dreaming from the sidelines. You’ve been a sweet friend, replying, not lurking. So honest!!!! Glad you’re out SW…it’s so u!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

